Church of St. Peter and St. Paul

By the end of the 19th century, the old Coswig village church had become too small for the town’s new population of 4,700. The new Church of St. Peter and St. Paul was built by the Dresden church architect Woldemar Kandler (1866–1929) employing the structures used in the German Renaissance, and consecrated on 9 November 1903.

The 60-metre tower, which can be seen from afar, rises above the striking main portal.
The interior was designed in the shape a cross with ribbed vaulting, an organ gallery and side galleries. It is decorated with glass windows and images on the pulpit based on designs by Ludwig Otto (1850–1920), a history painter from Dresden, and a painting of the Ascension above the sandstone altar.
One particular treasure is the sandstone baptismal font given to the old church by the master mason Georg Hase in 1718.
The organ, with its impressive casing, was built at the Jehmlich brothers’ workshop in Dresden in 1902 and has been renovated by the Jehmlich company with the help of numerous donors; it was re-consecrated in 2015.

Neue Kirche St. Peter und Paul

Die alte Coswiger Dorfkirche war am Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts für die auf 4700 Personen gewachsene Bevölkerung zu klein geworden. Die neue Peter-Pauls-Kirche wurde vom Dresdner Kirchenbaumeister Woldemar Kandler (1866-1929) nach den Formen der deutschen Renaissance erbaut und am 9. November 1903 geweiht.
Über dem markanten Hauptportal erhebt sich der 60 Meter hohe, weithin sichtbare Turm.
Der aus der Kreuzform entwickelte Raum mit Rippengewölbe, Orgelempore und Seitenemporen ist mit Glasfenstern und Kanzelbildern nach Entwürfen des Dresdner Historienmalers Ludwig Otto (1850-1920) geschmückt, ebenso das Gemälde von Christi Himmelfahrt über dem Sandsteinalter.
Eine besondere Kostbarkeit stellt die Sandsteintaufe dar, gestiftet von Maurermeister Georg Hase 1718 für die alte Kirche.
Die Orgel aus der Werkstatt der Gebrüder Jehmlich in Dresden (1902) mit ihrem imposanten Prospekt wurde durch die Fa. Jehmlich und mit Unterstützung zahlreicher Spender saniert; 2015 wurde sie erneut eingeweiht.